| |

Is Marmalade Gluten free?

Is Marmalade Gluten-free ? Marmalade is a fruit preserve made from the juice and peel of citrus fruits boiled with sugar and water. It is commonly made from Seville oranges. The word "marmalade" is derived from the Portuguese marmelada, from marmelo ‘quince’. Quince is a fruit similar in appearance to Pear.

Does Marmalade differ from Jam ?

Marmalade and Jam has similar cooking process. Marmalade is made by using a whole or cut Seville oranges or other citrus fruit. Jam is cooked to a pulp with sugar.

Marmalade produces a thick jam-like spread with chunks of tangy flavour whereas the jam produces thick, fruity spread.

Why Marmalade is thick ?

Fruits have pectin. It is a naturally occurring starch that is essential for fruit preserves. It helps in thickening of marmalade.

What is Gluten-free ?

Gluten is found in grains, such as wheat, barley, rye, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). Its name comes from the Latin word for “glue,” as it gives flour a sticky consistency when mixed with water.

This glue-like property helps gluten create a sticky network that gives bread the ability to rise when baked. It also gives bread a chewy and satisfying texture.

See also  Why Are Pies Round Tradition Practicality

The main sources of gluten are :

Wheat

Rye

Barley

Triticale

Bread, Pasta, Cereals, Baked goods,…

Gluten may also act as a prebiotic, feeding the “good” bacteria in our bodies. Many people feel uncomfortable after eating foods that contain gluten. The body senses it as a toxin, causing one’s immune cells to overreact and attack it.

The most severe reaction is called Celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly harms itself. It damages the intestine.

What is a gluten-free diet ?

A gluten-free diet involves excluding foods that contain the protein gluten. Gluten-free foods includes :

fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, seeds

fish, eggs, and poultry

Quinoa

Brown, black, or red rice

Buckwheat

Amaranth

Millet

Corn

Sorghum, Teff, Gluten-free Oats.

Ingredients in Marmalade

Marmalade is made made from the juice and peel of citrus fruits boiled with sugar and water with peel, often chopped into small pieces. Lemon juice, Sugar and water are added along with them.

How to make an marmalade ?

You can make marmalade easily with only few steps.

  1. First cut the oranges or any other citrus fruits into thin slices.
  2. In a steel pot, add water and bring the mixture to a boil, stirring often. Remove from the heat and stir in the sugar until it dissolves.
  3. Cover and let stand overnight at room temperature.
  4. Boil the mixture next day, Reduce heat to low and simmer uncovered for 2 hours. Turn heat up to medium and boil gently, stirring often, for another 30 minutes.
  5. Skim off any foam that forms on the top. Cook the marmalade until the thickens.
  6. Pour the marmalade into clean jar, then chill in the refrigerator for future use.
See also  Should Pears Be Refrigerated Here’s How To Store Them

What does marmalade taste like ?

Marmalade tastes slightly bitter and sour. If you like sweetness, then you should go for orange marmalade. Orange marmalade is sweet and vibrant, much like orange juice and has a slight zest to it from the citrus component.

If you need your marmalade sweeter, you should add more sugar. For sour and bitter, you can use lemon and grapefruit.

Marmalade suits your every taste from sweet to tangy.

Is it really Gluten-free ?

Marmalade can be also made from lemons, limes, grapefruits, mandarins, sweet oranges, bergamots, and other citrus fruits, or a combination. Marmalade are used as a sweet condiment for toast, biscuits, scones, croissants, and other baked goods. You can use it as a sweet, fruity addition to cakes. You can also use it as a spread in breakfasts.

Marmalade is made by using citrus rind, citrus juice, citric acid, sugar, powdered pectin. Due to its ingredients, marmalade is both gluten-free and vegan.

Similar Posts